happy Mothers Day!

Happy Mothers Day!  I am going to diverge from usual writings about the power of Cheerful Acceptance to thank some of the Mother’s who have come in and out of my life.  I have been truly blessed to have these women in my life and I will never be able to adequately thank them for what they have given me.

Phyllis Brown – My own mother…she has been a guiding force in my life since the day I was born.  She has been there through every major and minor event in my life.  She has always been there to provide love, support and guidance. I know that her life has not been easy and that she has made sacrifices so that I and my brothers could have what we needed and for that I will always be grateful.  She has been a wonderful “Namma” to my daughters.  I know that I do not show it nearly often enough, but Mom, I love  you and am truly blessed to have been your son.  You have been supportive through everything I have been through all of my life’s journey’s (even the “not-so-great” ones).

Liz Kahl – My first “auxiliary” mom.  From the time I was in second grade, I wandered in and out of your house.  I knew that when things were rough, I could always go to your house and everything would be okay.  The one time things got really bad at my place with Joel and I walked out…I came to your house and found the doors open.  I know that a rift has formed between Jonathan and I and I know that I do not see you anymore…but I am still grateful that you were a part of my life.

Wendy Christopher -My second “auxiliary” mom.  I started frequenting your house when I met John in 6th grade.  I have always loved and appreciated your sense of humor.  Your recent love of kayaking has been an inspiration for my interest in more outdoor activities.  Thank you so much for opening your home to me and my family over the years.

Sally Clark – Sally is the mother of my high school sweetheart, Michelle…  I spent every summer of my high school career hanging out at the Clark house.  It was here that I learned to pick corn and pumpkins.  Sally, you were always welcoming and a wonderful role model for me (not to mention nursing my Pepsi addiction).  While I love my wife dearly, you were the “Mother-In-Law” I always wanted.  You continue to be a active part of my daughters lives as often as it is possible with life’s busy schedule.  Thank you for opening you home to me, in high school and now.

Michelle Erickson (Clark) – Shelly, you were my high school sweetheart.  You broke up with me so I could go marry that “musician girl” (my wife Stephanie).  You were there for me when I needed friend throughout my failed college relationships. You have been and continue to be a wonderful Godmother to my girls.  And you are a great mother to your own children.  I am blessed to have had you as a part of my life.

Stephanie McCall – My love, my all, my best friend!  The loving mother of our beautiful children.  You have been my rock for the past 15 years.  I know that life has thrown you some pretty tough challenges, but you continue to be an inspiration for me every single day.  I wake up every morning blessed to know that you are the mother of my children.  You have given all of yourself to make sure that our girls have everything and for that I will always be grateful.  I know that as our girls grow up and become mothers themselves, you will be a wonderful grandmother (not any time soon however).  I could not have picked a better woman to be the mother of my children.

There are not enough words in the English language to adequately thank the strong women I have had in my life.  I love you all and am truly blessed to have your influence in my life.  Thank you for being the great mothers that you are and know that you are greatly appreciated by me.

To all Mothers out there…you can never possibly know how much you are appreciated by those people you love (even the ones who are your “real” children).  Thank you for being the positive role models you continue to be everyday.

Make sure that you go out there and give your mother a hug…and if she has passed away, take a moment of silent prayer to thank her for all she gave you.

Happy Mother’s Day!

 

Standard