Google searches and Cheerful Acceptance

In my search for a topic this morning, I tried the local news…no luck…so I went a new direction today.  I went to Google and I searched for the Top 10 Google searches.  For April 30th, here is short recap of the Top 15.

The 15 searches represented  1,570,000+ searches yesterday.  The death of Bob Hoskins  came in first with 30% of the searches…. Another third went to searches related to athletics.  The last third was split among a variety of topics.  100,000+ people searched Kort Cobain and the 20th anniversary of his death,   Another 100,000+ searched for info on the botched Oklahoma execution.  100,000+ more hunted for details surrounding the death of Peaches Geldof (heroin OD).  50,000+ wanted to know about the split up of Prince Harry and Cresida Bonas.  The fire in Etiwanda was the top interest for 50,000+ people.  Apparently 50,000+ were interested in the overplayed “Its Gonna Be May” meme about Justin Timberlake. And just 3% of the 1.5 million searches were searching about Sophia Bush’s comments regarding body image.

Hmmm…death….more death…botched death…catastrophic fire….ended relationship….seems like a lot of negativity (even if you consider that there are nearly 6 billion searches everyday, .02%) these are still the most popular.

And one positive article about body image….seems like we, as a world culture are far more interested in the the things that knock us down, rather than the things that build us up.  Perhaps we, as a world culture, are experiencing a bit of the German concept of Schadenfreude (happiness at the misfortune of others).  I am equally guilty of looking through the headlines and using them to feel better about my situation…or getting a good laugh at some of the things going on on the world stage.

But lets face it, when it comes to headlines, tragedy plays.  If it didn’t, then the major news outlets would not focus on it.  Its one of the reasons I dislike watching the news and reading the newspaper (perhaps that just makes me blind to current events…*shrug*).  Does any of it really matter?  If society is okay with the trend of negativity in the news, the focus on tragedy, then who am I to be any different?

I am different!  I choose to start a new trend!  And if at the end of the day, I am the only one I know who is following the new trend…then I will be .00000002% that is looking for positive, helpful things on Google.  I have spent the past month doing Google searches on acceptance, self-esteem and similar search terms.  I truly want to understand how Cheerful Acceptance can help me live happier and be a stronger person.  I want to be able to share that message with people… I believe that is what matters.  The concept of Cheerful Acceptance starts with cheerful, the idea of starting each day with positive mental/emotional concept.  I am not so naive to think that bad things don’t happen or that Cheerful Acceptance will rid the world of negative events.  And yes I do feel sadness for the people who have to endure them, but I do not want that to be the focus of my day.  I don’t believe that they want it to be the focus of their day either. So today, I choose Cheerful and I am going to try my hardest to focus on accepting who I am and finding a way to make who I am something I can use to make powerful, positive change in the world.

How can you find a way to be Cheerful today?  How can you accept who you are and make positive change in the world?  It starts with just one thought…Take a first step today!

Have a GREAT day!

Standard